My week was up in the air, waiting to hear back from a music video being shot in the city, or going on a road trip, which all are happening at the same time frame. Well the gig was a no-go, so I called up my sister for the roadtrip. It’s summer vacation and my sister sent her oldest to Arizona 2 weeks ago to spend with our other sister, and it was time to pick her back up.

Before the trip, I needed to finish up my techie work…which went well into sun up and I was way tired. Took a quick half-hour power nap and was on my way to my oldest sister’s place near Sacramento, 2-hours away. Another quick half-hour power nap while the sister gathered the other 3 kids and loaded the minivan and we were on our way.

This is what we had to look forward to.

She started the first leg, I took the second, and she finished off as the anchor. 13-hours on the road, and I contributed 1-hour. In my defense, I was mad tired, and truly believe you need to train yourself for long distance driving.

Arrived about 4am near Phoenix, Arizona, at my 2nd oldest sister’s place, and headed straight to the couch for more sleep! Yeah, the little ones call me Sleepy-Head. Woke up with little eyes staring back at me, so I knew it was time for breakfast.

What an assortment it was, but where was the Lucky Charms and Fruity Pebbles? 🙂

We kept it simple.

He had a potpourri of cereal.

In the afternoon, we headed to an outdoor recreation pool center. The water helped us forget the fact it was 111°F ! …but our bare feet walking on the cement didn’t. OUCH!

Back at the house, we went to the backyard for some fig picking.

Headed to a Korean Restaurant for dinner.

I’m goin’ back to Cali, Cali, Cali…I did much better this time contributing 9-hours of drive time.
The day after, I babysat – made oatmeal, fed the little one, went to swimming lessons.

It was 100°F here in this neck of the woods.
Checked out this sister’s backyard.  There were grapes

White Peaches

and hopefully the next time I’m here, the persimmons will be ready for me.
And now back to a more bearable weather conditions.


You’ll win some, you’ll lose some, but it all worked out as I got to spend time with family.

